The kiddos

When you’re right, you’re right

school bus

I like to be right. I mean who doesn’t? But I really like to be right when someone is telling me I am wrong. Or when someone is trying to pull a fast one on me. Perfect example. I finished registering my 4 year old for Pre-K today. I am already annoyed that it is only for 2 hours a day, and that I have to pay for it.  Yes, you read that corrctly-I have to pay for public school. WIth all that said, I assume that since I live a good distance from the school, that busing would be provided. For free. I work. How am I going to get this child there and back if there is no bus. As I go in today to drop of the many forms that say exactly the same thing, I am asked for my $200.00 deposit for the bus.  I stared at the secretary with what I am sure looked like a deer in headlights. She tells me that since I live less than 2 miles from the school I have to pay for the bus. So, I ask her to double check and she confirms it. I tell her I will come back with that and walk out. Calmly. On the outside. My inner self is fuming. I know I live AT LEAST 2 miles from the school. But even so-what 4 year old can walk 1.9 miles, or 1.0 miles to and from school each day.  So I get into my car and set my trip meter. I take the shortest route and just as I thought, I am exactly 2 miles from the school. So I happily call the transportation dept and tell them my “new” discovery. Of course the boss was out but they would call me back tommorrow.  Now, anyone who knows me knows this is not over. So as soon as I get to work I google map the directions.  It must be a miracle. There are 3 different ways to get from my house to the school. Route 1- 2.2 miles. Route 2- 2.0 miles and Route 3-2.5 miles. And of course I must prove how right I am so I print and fax my findings. And 2 hours later I get the phone call from the boss that is out until tomorrow. Oops she says, I thouht you lived somewhere else. Your son will get free busing. So my truth to you all is this. When you are right, you are right and stick to your guns. Dont be afraid to stand up for yourself, even if its as minor as something like a free bus ride.

6 thoughts on “When you’re right, you’re right

Leave a Reply

