Little Big Things / Uncategorized

It all started with a fall

It all started with a fall. We all have that one spot in the shower/bathtub where the mat does not reach. Of course that’s the spot that I stepped on this past Sunday morning and then fell flat on my back. As soon as I tried to get up I knew there was something wrong. I had a agonizing pain all through my lower back and down my legs. Wonderful. Being the stupid ass, trooper that  I am, I got up, ignored the pain, finished my shower and went to do laundry.  Looking back at that day, I guess standing on my feet for 3 hours was not the best idea. But of course, I am so hard-headed determined to get the chores done that I worked through the pain.

By 7pm that night, there was no denying it. I could not stand up straight and no matter which way I sat, stood, or lied down I could not get comfortable. 4 Motrin and some Ben Gay later I was sure that I would be ok to go to work in the morning. Oh boy was I in for a surprise. The next day was even worse. My back was pulsing and I knew that I was headed to the ER. Oh how I hate the hospital. It seems that every time I go there for something minor, I end up with something serious. The last time I went to the ER with a minor pain in my side, I ended up with a 3 night stay and left without my appendix. So you can imagine my disdain when the ER doctor said that I needed to have a CAT scan to make sure my kidneys were not bruised.

1 nasty drink (masked with Crystal Light, but disgusting none the less) and 45 minutes later I was on my way. Then comes the wait. So I waited. And waited. And waited. Then the doctor comes into my little area in the not Fast Track (I am not sure why they call it that since it always takes forever). Good news she tells me, your kidneys are ok. They are a little bruised, but otherwise ok. And then she took a deep breath. Here it comes. It’s never good when the doc takes a deep breath before they tell you anything.
You have a cyst on your ovary. She made it seem as if it is no big deal. Like something like this happens all the time. Well maybe it wasn’t a big deal to her, but it’s a big deal to me. My ob/gyn up and moved to west NJ so I don’t even really have someone that I am comfortable to go see about this. This doctor then tells me, you can just let it go, and unless you have pain you can ignore it.
She is so very lucky that I couldn’t walk. Just ignore it? Should I become an ostrich? Bury my head in the sand and pretend it’s not there?

I left the ER with my pain meds (that in all reality have not really helped at all) and a panic attack. I found a doctor in the insurance directory and will be going this afternoon to see what’s going on. It’s scary. I admit that I AM SCARED. But as always, G-D give us what we can handle so I guess HE trusts that I can deal with this little bump in the road.

***FOLLOW UP*** According to the wonderful Dr. Chen, I have a condition called “hypochondriac-ism”. OK well she didn’t actually say that, but she did say that it is normal to have a cyst on the ovary. I have to get an ultrasound in 2 months to make sure it goes away, but otherwise I just wasted my insurance companies money. PHEW. I feel much better. Now if I could just stand up straight again, all would be ok in the world

2 thoughts on “It all started with a fall

  1. Glad your ok. I know the feeling. This time last year I got a letter in the mail from my obgyn stating they had been trying to reach me by phone and to please call them immediately. When I did she said my pap came back abnormal and that it might not be anything serious but to make sure I come back in a year. All righty then. It’s been a year so I’ll see if she was right. It’s never that big a deal when it’s not their body…

    • Right. Its like when my Dr told me I had high cholesterol and then told me that I should stop eating foods I never ate in the first place….oh these drs…Lol thanks…:-)

Leave a Reply

