Uncategorized

Chanukah is Thanksgiving- Literally

Ok, so I just checked the calendar and I realized that this year, the Jewish holiday of Chanukah falls out on Thanksgiving- Literally. They are the same day. I looked at the calendar TWICE and I could not believe what I saw.  That’s too early my brain screamed. What’s the good of Black Friday if its already my holiday of giving?

How can these two days be the same? Thanksgiving is still in the fall. Chilly weather, but not too cold. Leaves are still on the trees showing us  their beautiful orange and reds. Chanukah is a winter holiday. Chilly nights, with snow on the ground.  The light of the candles glowing against the white of the snow outside, 

But when I think about it, it’s not that bad. This year my oldest son and daughter won’t feel jipped out of presents because their birthdays fall at the end of December. I mean we still have to contend with Christmas, but I can not believe that I have to finish my 8 days of presents before the second week of December.

I still think it will be odd to have a full on turkey dinner, watch the Macy’s Day Parade, and some football, then eat latkes (potato pancakes) and light my menorah.  

I love making new traditions with my family and this year will be no different. Turkey and Latkes? Why not? There’s a first time for everything. 

3 thoughts on “Chanukah is Thanksgiving- Literally

Leave a Reply

