The kiddos / Uncategorized

Stay at home mom-for a day!

So today I am a stay at home mom. I am in charge of the house and the kids. It has been a long time since I have been away from my job for more that a day or two, and when I am gone I am usually running around to appointments or on errands. It is rare that I can actually just spend the day in the house with my kids. Given that I don’t have a car, it is much easier. That being said, it has been a very busy morning.

To start, I prepared dinner for tonight and put it into the fridge to wait until I am ready to cook it. I then  put away the laundry (two weeks worth, for five people, not always an easy feat) and while I did that I totally re-organized my daughters drawers and closets. So I realized one major thing-besides for it being chaotic, dang that girls got A LOT of clothes,  OK so maybe that does not sound impressive, but believe me, it was a horror story in those areas. I should have taken a before and after picture, but all I have is the after so enjoy (and no I am NOT taking appointments to do yours)

Her shirts

Her shirts

Then I successfully put her down for a nap without too much screaming and yelling (again does not sound to impressive but you have not met this ever so strong willed little girl).

So with that accomplished I decided to make brownies with the boys. I have been promising for a few days that we would do this, but I actually had some time today (and I have been dying to use my Perfect Brownie maker that has say unused for TWO years in my kitchen). So we started with the mix ( I was not going to bake from scratch today so thank you Dunkan Hines).Then we cracked our eggs, mixed the batter, and licked the bowl. Then in true family form, we turned on The Price is Right while waiting for our creation to bake.  And now it’s 12:45 and I am exhausted, but I am also so so happy. I love being at home with my little ones and I am so excited to do it all over again for the rest of the week!DSCF0925

The Price is Right

The Price is Right

8 thoughts on “Stay at home mom-for a day!

  1. I love baking for and with my little one. Its so much fun but the best part is sitting down with your own little spoons and digging in to one bowl. Z and I are an unbeatable team, we’ve so far won all our battles easily. We’ve taken down ice cream, cakes, brownies, pies and a lot more..:) 🙂

    • I hear that! We are done with the brownies-they lasted through breakfast this morning….The kids love to bake and I do too…I am going to get a bread machine this weekend so we can start baking out own bread…..

    • Who are you telling? Im home until Tuesday with them…I almost got laid off and I was like hell no, you better find a way to keep me part time so its not that much time alone with all of them? Add 2 cats and a dog to the mix? I need a valium….it was fun yesterday today not so much and i am in fear of what tomm will bring…

Leave a Reply

