Little Big Things

On Sunday I walked

Image

On Sunday I walked. I didn’t walk far, I didn’t walk for a long time, but I walked. I walked for myself, I walked for others, I walked for a cause. Many do not realized but October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month.  Our color is purple.  Our cause is a quiet one.  People are not comfortable about speaking about our cause. It is taboo. Many still feel that what happens in the home should stay in the home.  Well I say NO. Talk about it.  Do NOT be embarrassed. IT IS OK. IT IS NOT YOUR FAULT. 

I did not say anything about it. I took the punches. I took the insults. I made the excuses. I took the blame. But thanks to 180 Turning Lives Around I survived. I made it out alive. My kids made it out unscathed.  I learned what to look for. I learned about red flags. I learned about the cycle of abuse

Image

I learned how to forgive myself. I learned how to be not only ok, but how to be great.  So when the opportunity came to be a part of something bigger then myself I jumped at it.  When I got there I was feeling shy. I was one of the only adults there. It was mostly High School Students. I felt them looking at me and my homemade survivor t-shirt and I saw the questions in their eyes. I saw the unasked questions, but I did not have the courage to speak to them. I wish I did. I wish I could take to each and every single one of those kids and tell them it’s ok to ask questions.

So I walked. And I cried. Not tears of shame. Not tears of regret. Tears of joy. Tears of happiness.  I walked for me. I walked for you.  I walked because four years ago I could not walk without permission. I could not speak, move or think without being punished. I am proud to be a survivor. I am proud t speak up. I am proud to speak about my experience.  Do not be afraid my friends.  Speak up. Be safe. Be happy. You deserve it.

If we speak loud enough, they can not ignore us anymore. 

Image

11 thoughts on “On Sunday I walked

  1. Every step you took was a step for those who have been left behind in fear or because of inadequate knowledge about how domestic violence happens. The HOPE Walk is ‘hoping’ to educate young people about healthy relationships. We are so glad that you came to be with us!!!!

    • It was my pleasure. Anything I can ever do for 180 will be done. You folks changed me, and saved me. I will be forever grateful. Together we can change the world.

  2. Thanks for walking for all of us that were able to escape. Thank you for walking for all future survivors. I love the shirt and I think it spoke all the words you needed to say. I am so glad the color is purple , cause purple is my favorite !!
    Cheers !!

    • I love purple too! I am hoping that this walk catches on more because its a wonderful event. It was put together by HS kids from the LEO club. We need to start with the youth. 180 is wonderful. It is my goal to create more centers like that state and country wide.

      • If I could prevent even 1 person from going through the trauma that we went through I would do anything in my power. I had no knowledge of what DV really was. I was blindsided that it could even happen. Education is the key. The more you know the better equipped we can be to navigate this world. We need to train our girls to be strong and assertive and to NOT be YES girls. OK I will get off my soapbox now 😉

      • You can always stay on the soapbox with me. I hate the stories and children’s books that encourage the young girls to be princess’s and find the prince charming. Some are ok , but some make me want to puke.

      • I am with you on that one. My little girl is tough as nails. At not even 2 she does not anyone push her around-especially her brothers. She watches Ninjago, and Power Rangers and we have not introduced the “princess” to her yet. When we move I will make her room pretty and girly but I WILL NOT let her be a yes girl. I will do anything in my power to make sure she is strong and aware. And as for my boys. well they have been taught to treat girls ( and anyone really) with respect. As much as my daughter messes with them they are gentle and kind to her. Even when she hits them. We have to start them young….
        🙂

Leave a Reply

