Little Big Things / Uncategorized

Moving forward, while looking back

Many posts ago, I was devastated when I found out that my parents were going to sell my childhood home. Well the good news is, that after many, many, many conversations, I convinced my parents (that, along with the current market) to let me pay off the line of credit and taxes and let me and my family live there. Yay.

With that being said, they are still moving to Florida, and the house still has to be cleaned out. Living in the same place for over 40 years, there is a lot of things to go through. On Sunday, we went though a closet and the attic. It was like going through a time warp. I found ALL of the Bat/Bar Mitzvah invitations that I had from 6th and 7th grade. I found old notebooks, diaries, and memories. They were nice to look through and then I took a deep breath and threw them out. It was sad and freeing at the same time. I didn’t have the heart to go through my sister’s things (although I was VERY curious to read her diaries-I didn’t but I wanted to) and put her three boxes back into the attic.

I found my dads Navy Uniforms, a Smurf sleeping bag from the 80’s and some very outdated textbooks. But then I went into the closet and that is where I found the gold.

Not literally gold, but family gold. Pictures. Tons of pictures. It seems that when my grandmother (still alive and kicking at 96) sold her house, her pictures came to mine. They were stored in a box and put into the back of the downstairs closet under the stairs. They were forgotten, that is until now. I sat there for a few hours, being able to look into my families past. My grandmother from the 1930’s. My father’s baby pictures. My great-grandmother (bubbe) and great-grandfather (pop). This was the first time I saw a picture of him. I found pictures of my mom’s parents looking young. I found wonderful pictures of my grandmother to show my daughter when she gets older. I can tell her-this is the woman that you are named for. I found pictures of my Great-Aunt Ethel, looking regal and so proper. I found a picture of the man that I was named for, but never before knew who he was or what he looked like.

I found my mothers baby book. My grandmother was so careful to outline the family tree and now I have the names of my mothers side of the family going back 3 generations. Watch out ancestry.com, here I come. I unlocked the treasure trove of who I am and where I came from, and now I can pass this on to my kids. Never will they wonder (at least on my side of the family) who they are and they can always move forward but still look back.

Leave a Reply

